Council of Religious (COR)

cor logo

With the encouragement and guidance of Bishop John Lee, the Council of Religious (COR) was formed in August 1997 in the diocese.  The elected office bearers were: Sr Aquinas Voon fsic (chairperson), Br Justin Mobilik fsc (vice chairperson), Sr Agnes Wong fsp (secretary), Sr Angeline Lau rgs (treasurer), Sr Grace Deosing fsic (member), and Sr Cecilia Liew fsic (member).

The objectives of the COR are:

  • To serve the organism of mutual liaison among the religious institutes;
  • To act as a means of promoting and renewing religious life in fidelity to the magisterium and to the distinctive charisms of each institute;
  • To provide the forum for the discussion of mutual concerns of the archbishop, priests and religious; and
  • To co-ordinate the activities of religious institute with the pastoral action of the archdiocese under the guidance of the archbishop, without prejudice to relations and negotiations which can be carried out directly by the archbishop himself with any individual institute.

Since 1997, there are four women religious institutes and three men religious institutes serving in the archdiocese: Order of Discalced Carmelite Nuns (OCD), Daughters of St Paul (FSP), Franciscan Sisters of the Immaculate Conception (FSIC), and Religious of the Good Shepherd (RGS); Brothers of St Gabriel (SG), Brothers of the Christian School or La Salle Brothers (FSC), and the Marist Brothers (FMS).

Episcopal Vicar for Religious: Msgr Primus Jouil
Chairperson: Sr Christine Sundin fsp
Secretary: Sr Rita Chew fsic
Treasurer: Sr Alice Lopez fsic
Members: Sr Grace Deosing fsic, Sr Sandra Masilang rgs, Br Peter Foo fsc,
Br Francis Xavier Gasper sg, Br Demosthenes Calabria fms.

Copyright © 2018. Powered by WordPress & Romangie Theme.