Archdiocesan Education


Ever since the Mill Hill Missionaries came to Sabah shore in 1881 and set up schools for the people, the Church has been involved in the educational scene. At the time of independence in 1963, the mission schools were a major means of missionary work reaching out to Catholics and non-Catholics alike.  However, the political change that independence brought along with other factors, resulted in the Church losing control and influence over Catholic mission schools.  An Act of Parliament classified mission schools as “fully assisted schools” which came under the direct control of the Ministry of Education and became part and parcel of the National Education system (100 Years of Good News 1903-2003 Sacred Heart Cathedral Kota Kinabalu, 2004)  Yet all was not lost.  The Church, through the Education Commission (set up in 1971 under PAX) has the power to suggest to the State Educational Ministry the replacement of principals/school heads in the 43 mission schools in the archdiocese.

Address: Archdiocesan Education Commission Office
Lrg Hiburan 3, Taman Hiburan, Jalan Penampang
P.O.Box 10225, 88802 Kota Kinabalu Sabah
Tel: 088-712297 / 710297 Fax: 088-711297
Clerk: Adeline Lazarus

Education Commission 2019-2021

Advisor: Fr. Jalius Sading

Head: Sr Rita Chew fsic   013-5599046
Treasurer:   Matthew Chong    016-8327368
Board of Governors: Jeyan Marimuthu    019-8106399
Retirement/Replacement of School Heads: Marie Yong Pik Hua  019-5342128
Teachers’ Affairs (Seminars/conferences): Winnie Kual    013-8889999
Teachers Ministry: Aloysius Sitabal     013-8680516
Kindergarten: Jennifer Anjik  016-8380093;  Irene Chong  016-8199008
Training of School Heads: Julia Willie Jock 013-8663391
Conferences, Retreats & Seminars: Sr Rita Chiew, Marie Yong, Winnie Kual, Julia Jock

Copyright © 2019. Powered by WordPress & Romangie Theme.