Daily Archives:August 6th, 2018

FSJV marks feast day with charity dinner

The organisers of the FSJV charity dinner pose with the clergy after the event, 5 Aug 2018, Putera Theatre Ballroom Bukit Padang.

BUKIT PADANG – The Friends of St John Vianney (FSJV) marked the feast day of its patron saint, John Vianney, with a charity dinner, at the Putera Theatre Ballroom here on 5 Aug 2018.

Almost a thousand people attended the third dinner organised in aid of the welfare fund for the archdiocesan aspirants and seminarians.

The concept was first mooted by then Aspirants Director Father Wilfred Atin in 2011, realised in 2013 under the acronym RASS (Rakan-rakan Aspiran dan Seminarian) but the name was changed to Friends of St John Vianney (FSJV) in 2014.

The main objective of FSJV was to give material and moral support to the aspirants and seminarians through various activities and involvement of the laity in the early formative years of these young candidates.

In his address, Archbishop John Wong, FSJV patron, thanked the organising team headed by Rayner Ajumal, for organising the event, and all present for their support in turning up for the dinner.

On the other hand,  FSJV chairman Peter Suking,  in his welcoming speech,  gave a backgrounder on its history to the diners while Father Joshua Liew, FSJV spiritual advisor since January 2018, thanked everyone for their presence and support.

Among the stage performances was a skit entitled Sickness of the World by the aspirants.  The performances were interspersed with lucky draws.

The organisers also took the opportunity to honour Father Mattheus Luta (Initiation Year Director) and Father Wiandigool Runsab (assistant pastor of St Michael Penampang) in conjunction with their eighth priestly anniversaries (Aug 4).

Among those present were Abp Emeritus John Lee, Father Thomas Madanan of St Joseph Kiulu, Father Wilfred Atin, former Aspirants Director and now pastor of St Michael Penampang, Father Abel Madisang of St John Tuaran, and Deacon Russell Lawrine.

LJCCC welcomes 27 new members on its 35th anniversary

The new associates, Underway, and full members pose for remembrance after the ceremony, Sacred Heart Cathedral Karamunsing, 5 Aug 2018.

KOTA KINABALU – The Light of Jesus Christ Covenant Community (LJCCC) welcomed 27 new members in various stages on its 35th anniversary celebration on 5 Aug 2018 at the Sacred Heart Cathedral here.

It did not just celebrate its establishment 35 years ago but also its Covenant Day Commitment.

Five (Nathaniel Funk, Jeremiah Michael, Janefher Bajagap, Sylvia Richard, Erma Fernandez) were received as full-fledged Covenant members while 11 signed up for Underway Commitment and another 11 become new associate members.

The 11 Underway commitment signees were Sarah Mae Funk, Frances Deanna Ramli, Emanuela Mojikon, Elijah Bajagap, Dony Mapat, Alvin Lai, Benjamin Liew, Chai Yee Siang, Monica Henry, Jenna Robert, and Julie Thadeus.

The new associates were Margaret Lim, Susie Taylor, Irene Lajanty, Francisca Malantin, Marianne Yong, Emmanuel Mojikon, Harold Wong, Joshua Liew, Brian Chin, Fenson Chin, and Genevieve Rajah.

The pledge-taking was witnessed by the Council of Elders headed by Anthony Lim who received the pledges.

To be noted was the fact that some of the new members were the children of existing community members.

This was seen as a sign of hope for the future of the community, a fact highlighted by Father Paul Lo who presided at the Thanksgiving Eucharist following the pledge-taking.  It was also emphasised by Anthony Lim in his welcoming address later at the dinner fellowship at the parish hall after Mass.

Copyright © 2019. Powered by WordPress & Romangie Theme.